My Education

“I’ve never let school interfere with my education.”
-Mark Twain
1.
I’ve always found comfort within the soft covers
and the strength needed when I lean on the hard ones.
They each add a vertebrae, lengthening my spine,
allowing me to stand taller and look further.
I believe it’s a symbiotic relationship:
I grew and they get used, but never used up.
I owe these cornucopia much more than they can offer,
so much that I would need a new word for infinity.

2.
How an issue is framed in school curriculums
is a reflection of society’s attitudes towards it,
Which is why I never completely trusted the contents page,
the lecture overview or the summary notes.
Life, even a section of it, cannot be compressed
in a year, in a semester, in the days before exams.
They only offer brief descriptions, general contents,
rough overviews and a summary of a summary.

3.
May be I should be more grateful,
and offer great praise for its contributions.
May be I should not credit its tools as much,
especially with the word’s attached connotation.
May be there is and yet no difference,
like the question of the chicken and the egg.
And yet I’m convinced there is, because
I would never curl up in bed, with an institution.

Creative Commons License
My Education by Cheyenne Alexandria Phillips is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Leave a Reply

